April 27, 2020

David Bumpass, M.D. Receives Inaugural Team Science Award


AMS Translational Research Institute’s Team Science Voucher Award.   The voucher program aims to increase the quantity, quality and effectiveness of cross-disciplinary research at UAMS. Awards of up to $50,000 went to seven UAMS teams from a pool of 26 applications.  Vouchers were awarded through a competitive peer-review process, with priority going to teams who proposed innovative research approaches with high potential for future funding and impact.

ntegrate existing research efforts in patient-reported outcome measurement, healthcare informatics, healthcare management, and direct health cost measurement to establish a focused multidisciplinary team working to understand and improve musculoskeletal care value in Arkansas.  Project team members include Jeffrey Stambough, M.D., assistant professor, and Steven Cherney, M.D., assistant professor, both in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, as well as Nalin Payakachat, BPharm, MSc, Ph.D., associate professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice, and Alison Cabarello, M.P.H., CHES®, Director of the UAMS Center for Health Literacy.

The vouchers will help the teams generate key data and increase their projects’ translational potential. The institute will also provide resources and training to facilitate the teams’ implementation of team science. “I am thrilled with the number, diversity and quality of applicants for this inaugural team science initiative,” said Carolyn Greene, Ph.D., who directs the institute’s Team Science Program. “We are looking forward to the results of their collective efforts.”

The full list of recipients, project titles and team members are: