The 37th Annual Arkansas Orthopaedic Forum

September 17, 2021
8:00 am -11:45 am


Join us for this exciting learning opportunity!
During this half day virtual event, recognized orthopaedic surgeons and traumatologists will share their knowledge and experience as they provide a comprehensive update on evolving concepts and techniques in orthopaedic trauma.

The 37th Annual Arkansas Orthopaedic Forum is designed for orthopaedic surgeons, traumatologists, and other healthcare professionals to enhance surgeon competency and provide strategies for the treatment and management of orthopaedic trauma cases. UAMS Faculty and invited guest speakers will present the latest concepts and techniques in orthopaedic trauma using lectures, panel discussions, and case presentations. Agenda highlights include:

uams spine

  • The 2021 Forum will kick off with the Carl L. Nelson, M.D. Distinguished Visiting Professor, Chip Routt, M.D., a renowned orthopaedic traumatologist, who holds the Andrew R. Burgess, M.D. Endowed Chair in Orthopaedic Surgery at the University of Texas Health Sciences Center in Houston, TX.
  • Following the first session, PGY-4 residents in the UAMS Department of Orthopaedic Surgery will contend for the top score as they present their comprehensive research projects in the James Aronson, M.D. Resident Research Competition.
  • The midmorning session features the 16th Annual Panel of Experts—a discussion that brings together fellowship-trained orthopaedic surgeons and traumatologists — to highlight key concepts in trauma preparedness, as well as Trauma Case Presentations that illustrate critical learning points.     

You won’t want to miss this exciting webinar!  Register Now!

Click to Join

Featured Speakers

The Carl L. Nelson Distinguished Visiting Professor 

“What Matters”
Chip Routt, M.D.

Chip Routt for web

We are pleased to welcome this year’s Carl L. Nelson Distinguished Visiting Professor, Milton Lee (Chip) Routt, Jr., M.D.  Dr. Routt is a board-certified orthopaedic traumatologist and the Dr. Andrew R. Burgess Endowed Chair and Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery at The University of Texas McGovern Medical School at Houston, The Texas Trauma Institute, and Memorial Hermann Hospital – Texas Medical Center. 

Dr. Routt specializes in Orthopedic Trauma with an emphasis on treating the multiply injured patient. His areas of expertise include Pelvic ring and acetabular disruptions and acetabular fractures. He is internationally recognized for his pioneering work developing safe percutaneous pelvic fixation techniques, relevant pelvic biomechanical research, reliable pelvic and acetabular imaging, He has published over 100 peer-reviewed articles and has received a variety of awards including the 2019 Leonard Tow Award for Humanism and Education, 2018 MHH Physician of the Year, Orthopedic Resident Teaching awards at UT Houston and the University of Washington, and the Jack McDaniels Traveling Fellowship.

The James Aronson, M.D. Resident Research Competition

PGY-4 residents
A panel of judges will evaluate and score each PGY-4 resident's research project, as they contend for the top score. From the top, left to right):

  • Robert Achilike, M.D.
  • Weston Gentry, M.D.
  • Derrick Henry, M.D.
  • Timothy Hereford, M.D.
  • Cody McLeod, M.D.
  • Sean Parham, M.D.

The 16th Annual Panel of Experts
Trauma Preparedness

Our midmorning session highlights key topics and best practices in trauma preparedness. Panelists include:

  • Kyle Kalkwarf, M.D. (UAMS Trauma and Critical Care Surgery)
  • Chip L. Routt, M.D. (University of Texas Health Science Center)
  • Simon C. Mears, M.D., Ph.D (UAMS Orthopaedic Surgery)

Trauma Learning Points

As a new element to the forum, we are excited to bring you four case presentations that illustrate critical learning points in orthopaedic trauma. Presenters include:

  • Chip L. Routt, M.D. (UTHSC)
  • Eric Boe, DO (Baptist-Health)
  • Steve Cherney, M.D. (UAMS Orthopaedic Surgery)
  • Sam Agnew, M.D. (Orthopaedics of South Arkansas)

For questions about the 37th Annual Arkansas Orthopaedic Forum, please contact:

Linda Jones